Schools and Learning

Families Information Service hold information about all schools in Doncaster.

Schools

You can find a list of schools in Doncaster below, alternatively, you can search for a school using our Schools Finder. If you would like to know more about a certain school, for example how many children are on the register or the latest inspection report, you can find information by looking at the new government information about schools website. You can also search for primary, secondary and special needs schools and colleges near you, and check their performance on the government school performance website.

Infant Schools

School Name Area Telephone Website
Askern Littlemoor Infant Academy Askern 01302 701353 www.askernlittlemoor.com
Askern Moss Road Infant Academy Askern 01302 700287 www.askernmossroad.com
Grange Lane Infant Academy New Rossington 01302 868378 www.gliacademy.org.uk
Kirk Sandall Infant School Kirk Sandall 01302 882221 www.ksinfantschool.co.uk
Norton Infant School Norton 01302 700743 www.norton-inf.uk
Rossington Tornedale Infant School New Rossington 01302 868387 www.tornedaleinfantschool.co.uk
Rowena Academy Conisbrough 01709 863109 www.rowenaacademy.org.uk
Scawsby Saltersgate Infant School Scawsby 01302 784429 www.saltersgate-inf.doncaster.sch.uk
Sprotbrough Orchard Infant School Sprotbrough 01302 853655 www.orchardinfants.wordpress.com

Primary Schools

School Name Area Telephone Website
Adwick Primary School Woodlands 01302 723568 (Lower)
01302 722762 (Upper)
www.adwickprimary.doncaster.sch.uk
Arksey Primary School Arksey 01302 874432 www.arkseyprimary.co.uk
Armthorpe Shaw Wood Academy Armthorpe 01302 831307 www.shawwoodacademy.co.uk
Atlas Academy Doncaster 01302 363612 www.astreaatlas.org
Auckley School Auckley 01302 770701 www.auckley.doncaster.sch.uk
Balby Central Primary School Balby 01302 321914 www.balbycentralprimary.co.uk
Barnburgh Primary School Barnburgh 01709 893125 www.barnburghprimary.co.uk
Barnby Dun Primary Academy Barnby Dun 01302 883917 www.barnbydunprimaryacademy.co.uk
Bawtry Mayflower Primary School Bawtry 01302 710721 www.bawtrymayflower.doncaster.sch.uk  
Bentley High Street Primary School Bentley 01302 874536 www.bentleyhighstreet.co.uk
Bentley New Village Primary School Bentley 01302 874385 www.bentleynewvillage.co.uk
Bessacarr Primary Bessacarr 01302 535110 www.bessacarr.doncaster.sch.uk
Branton St Wilfrid's C Of E Primary School Branton 01302 537344 www.branton-st-wilfrids-primary.co.uk
Canon Popham C Of E Primary Academy Edenthorpe 01302 884465 http://canon-popham.vox-cms.com
Carcroft Primary School Carcroft 01302 722353 www.carcroftprimary.co.uk
Carr Lodge Academy Balby 01302 230700 www.carrlodgeacademy.org
Castle Academy Conisbrough 01709 513010 www.castleacademy.org
Conisbrough Ivanhoe Primary Academy Conisbrough 01709 862307 www.ivanhoeschool.co.uk
Crookesbroom Primary Academy Hatfield 01302 841337 www.cpacademy.org.uk
Denaby Main Primary School Denaby Main 01709 863622 www.astreadenabymain.org
Dunsville Primary School Dunsville 01302 882958 www.dunsville.doncaster.sch.uk
Edenthorpe Hall Primary Academy Edenthorpe 01302 882381 www.edenthorpehall.doncaster.sch.uk
Edlington Victoria Academy Edlington 01709 862175 www.edlingtonvictoria.co.uk
Green Top Thorne 01405 813181 www.greentopschool.co.uk
Hatchell Wood Primary Academy Cantley 01302 538108 www.hatchellwood.realsmartcloud.com
Hatfield Sheep Dip Lane Primary School Dunscroft 01302 842464 www.sheepdiplane.doncaster.sch.uk
Hatfield Woodhouse Primary School Hatfield Woodhouse 01302 840448 www.hatfieldwoodhouse.org.uk
Hawthorn Primary School Cantley 01302 535906 www.hawthorn.doncaster.sch.uk
Hayfield Lane Primary School Auckley 01302 770427 www.hayfieldlane.org
Hexthorpe Primary School Hexthorpe 01302 852245 www.hexthorpe.doncaster.sch.uk
Highfields Primary Academy Highfields 01302 722216 http://www.highfieldspa.org.uk
Highwoods Academy Mexborough  01709 583273 www.highwoods.doncaster.sch.uk
Hill Top Academy Edlington 01709 863273 www.hilltop-primary.co.uk
Hillside Academy Denaby Main 01709 862640 www.hillsideacademy.org
Holy Family Catholic Primary School Stainforth 01302 841283 www.holyfamily.doncaster.sch.uk
Hooton Pagnell All Saints Church Of England Primary School. Hooton Pagnell 01977 642054 www.hpcofe.co.uk
Intake Primary Academy Intake 01302 344743 www.astreaintake.org
Kingfisher Primary Academy Wheatley 01302 349275 www.kingfisherprimary.co.uk
Kirkby Avenue Primary School Bentley 01302 782953 www.kirkbyavenueprimaryschool.co.uk
Lakeside Primary School Belle Vue 01302 368879 www.lakesidedoncaster.com  
Long Toft Primary School Stainforth 01302 841246 www.longtoft-doncaster.co.uk  
Mallard Primary School Balby 01302 859116 http://www.mallardprimary.com
Marshland Primary School Moorends 01405 812693 www.marshland.doncaster.sch.uk
Mexborough St John The Baptist C Of E Primary School Mexborough 01709 582619 www.mexboroughstjohn.co.uk
Montagu Academy Mexborough 01709 583286 www.montaguacademy.org.uk
New Pastures Primary School Mexborough 01709 583271 www.newpasturesprimaryschool.co.uk
Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Primary School Intake 01302 349743 www.ourladymountcarmel.doncaster.sch.uk
Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic Primary School Bentley 01302 874291 www.ourladys.doncaster.sch.uk
Our Lady Of Sorrows Catholic Voluntary Academy Armthorpe 01302 833941 www.ourladysorrows.doncaster.sch.uk
Owston Park Primary School Skellow 01302 722271 www.owston.doncaster.sch.uk
Park Primary School Wheatley 01302 344659 www.parkprimary.greenschoolsonline.co.uk
Plover Primary School Intake 01302 361450 www.plover.doncaster.sch.uk
Richmond Hill Primary Academy Sprotbrough 01302 782421 www.richmond.doncaster.sch.uk  
Rosedale Primary School Scawsby 01302 782744 www.rosedale.doncaster.sch.uk
Rossington St Michaels C Of E Primary School Rossington 01302 868284 www.rossingtonstmichaelscofe.org.uk
Sandringham Primary School Intake 01302 361880 www.sandringham.school
Scawthorpe Castle Hills Primary School Scawthorpe 01302 780246 www.castlehills.org.uk
Scawthorpe Sunnyfields Primary School Scawthorpe 01302 780386 www.sunnyfields.doncaster.sch.uk 
Southfield Primary Armthorpe 01302 831824 https://southfield.eschools.co.uk
St Alban's Catholic Primary School Denaby Main 01709 862298 www.st-albans.doncaster.sch.uk
St Francis Xavier Catholic Primary School Balby 01302 344678 www.xavier.doncaster.sch.uk
St Joseph & St Teresa's Catholic Primary School Woodlands 01302 723320 www.sjst.co.uk
St Joseph's School a Catholic Voluntary Academy New Rossington 01302 868098 www.st-josephs.doncaster.sch.uk
St Mary's Catholic Primary School Edlington 01709 863280 www.st-marys-pri.doncaster.sch.uk
St Oswald's C Of E Academy Finningley 01302 770330 www.stoswaldsacademy.co.uk
St Peter's Catholic Primary School Belle Vue 01302 369143 www.stpeterdoncaster.co.uk
Stainforth Kirton Lane Primary School Stainforth 01302 842092 www.kirtonlane.doncaster.sch.uk
Thorne Brooke Primary School Thorne 01405 812200 www.thornebrooke.doncaster.sch.uk
Thorne King Edward Primary School Thorne 01405 813522 www.kingedward.doncaster.sch.uk
Tickhill Estfeld Primary School Tickhill 01302 744275 www.estfeld.doncaster.sch.uk
Tickhill St Mary's C Of E Primary & Nursery School Doncaster 01302 742569 www.tickhillstmarys.co.uk
Toll Bar Primary School Toll Bar 01302 874324 www.tollbar.doncaster.sch.uk
Town Field Primary School Doncaster 01302 368192 www.townfield.doncaster.sch.uk
Tranmoor Primary Armthorpe 01302 831720 www.tranmoor.doncaster.sch.uk
Travis St Lawrence C E Primary School Hatfield 01302 840200 (Lower)
01302 842164 (Upper)
www.travis.doncaster.sch.uk
Wadworth Primary School Wadworth 01302 851451 www.wadworthprimary.org.uk
Warmsworth Primary School Warmsworth 01302 852200 www.warmsworth.doncaster.sch.uk
Waverley Academy Balby 01302 853326 www.astreawaverley.org
West Road Primary School Moorends 01405 812734 www.westrd.doncaster.sch.uk
Willow Academy Bessacarr 01302 539249 www.willowprimaryschool.co.uk
Windhill Primary School Mexborough 01709 586949 www.windhillprimary.co.uk
Woodfield Primary School Balby 01302 853289 www.woodfieldprimaryschool.co.uk
Woodlands Primary School Woodlands 01302 722367 www.woodlandsprimary.doncaster.sch.uk

Junior Schools

School Name Area Telephone Website
Copley Junior School Sprotbrough 01302 856445 www.copley.doncaster.sch.uk
Kirk Sandall Junior School Kirk Sandall 01302 882827 www.kirksandalljunior.schooljotter2.com
Morley Place Academy Conisbrough 01709 863400 www.morleyplace.org.uk
Norton Junior School Norton 01302 700303 www.norton-jun.doncaster.sch.uk
Pheasant Bank Academy New Rossington 01302 868252 www.pheasantbankacademy.org.uk
Scawsby Saltersgate Junior School Scawsby 01302 782100 www.saltersjun.doncaster.sch.uk
Spa Academy Askern Askern 01302 700332 www.spaacademyaskern.com

Secondary Schools

School Name Area Telephone Website
Armthorpe Academy Armthorpe 01302 831582 www.armthorpeacademy.org.uk
Ash Hill Academy Hatfield 01302 840961 www.ashhillacademy.org.uk
Astrea Academy Woodfields Balby 01302 312140 www.astreawoodfields.org
Campsmount Academy Norton 01302 700002 www.campsmount.com
De Warenne Academy Conisbrough 01709 864001 www.dewarenne.org.uk
Don Valley Academy Scawthorpe 01302 651035 www.donvalleyacademy.org.uk
Hall Cross Academy Lower School Bessacarr 01302 320626 www.hallcrossacademy.co.uk
Hall Cross Academy Upper School Doncaster 01302 320626 www.hallcrossacademy.co.uk
Hungerhill School Edenthorpe 01302 885811 www.hungerhillschool.com
Laurel Academy Mexborough 01709 585858 www.laurelacademy.org.uk
Outwood Academy Adwick Woodlands 01302 722237 www.outwood.com
Outwood Academy Danum Intake 01302 831385 www.danum.outwood.com
Ridgewood School Scawsby 01302 783939 www.ridgewoodschool.co.uk
Rossington All Saints Academy New Rossington 01302 868414 www.theallsaints.net
Sir Thomas Wharton Academy Edlington 01709 864100 www.stwcc.co.uk
The Hayfield School Auckley 01302 770589 www.thehayfieldschool.co.uk
The McAuley Catholic High School Doncaster 01302 537396 www.mcauley.org.uk
Trinity Academy Thorne 01405 813000 www.trinity-academy.org.uk
Xp School Balby  01302 898792 www.xpschool.org

Independent Schools 

Private schools (also known as 'independent schools') charge fees to attend instead of being funded by the government. Private schools must be registered with the government and are inspected regularly.

School Name Area Telephone Website
Balby Sycamore Hall School Balby 01302 856800 www.sycamorehallschool.co.uk
Doncaster School for the Deaf and Communication Specialist College Bennetthorpe 01302 386700 www.deaf-trust.co.uk/school
Hill House School Auckley 01302 776300 www.hillhouse.doncaster.sch.uk

Special Schools

Some children have long term, significant and complex needs and will require an Education, Health and Care Plan specifying a specialist placement within one of Doncaster’s special schools. To meet this level of exceptional need the Local Authority maintains 5 special schools:

School Telephone Specialises In Age Range
Coppice School 01302 844883 Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
Social, Emotional and Mental Health (SEMH)
Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD)
3 - 19 years
Heatherwood School 01302 322044 Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD)
Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulty (PMLD)
3 - 19 years
North Ridge School 01302 720790 Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD) 3 - 19 years
Pennine View School 01709 864978 Moderate Learning Difficulty (MLD) 7 - 16 years
Stone Hill School 01302 800090 Moderate Learning Difficulty (MLD) 5 - 16 years

In Doncaster, the majority of pupils are allocated a place at their local school (this is referred to as their catchment area school) – you can find out more about the schools admission process and school transfers on their webpage: school admissions. You can find school holidays and term dates here.

The Attendance and Pupil Welfare Service (APWS) works with schools, parents and carers, pupils and other agencies to reduce unnecessary absences from school. The role of the Attendance and Pupil Welfare Service is to:

  • Advise and support families, children and schools to ensure that all children receive an education by regular attendance at school or otherwise
  • Work with home educating families and services to offer support and advice
  • Identify children missing education and ensure their re-engagement with education
  • Ensure that child employment and performance is undertaken within the requirements of the legislation. 

Sometimes, parents feel their children would benefit from extra support outside of school; this may be to prepare children for upcoming exams or to help them in a certain subject. Whatever the reason, there are tutors out there who can help – you can find them on our directory under private tuition. You can also find out more about exam and revision support on the Move on, Move up webpage.

After your child has finished their GCSEs, they may be unsure about what further opportunities are available to them, these include:

  • Staying in school
  • Sixth form college
  • Further education college
  • Work-based training provider

Sixth Forms and Further Education Colleges

You can view a list of schools in Doncaster who have sixth forms, and a list of further education colleges in and around Doncaster below. For a list of training providers in and around Doncaster, please visit Start in Doncaster where you can find careers information. For more information on the above options, you can also read the choosing where to study or train guide, which has been produced by UCAS (Universities and Colleges Admissions Service).

School Sixth Forms

The following schools in Doncaster have sixth forms:

  • Ash Hill Academy
  • Atrea Woodfields (Balby Carr Community Academy)
  • Campsmount (A Co-operative Academy)
  • Danum Academy
  • De Warenne Academy
  • Don Valley Academy
  • Hall Cross Academy
  • Outwood Academy
  • Ridgewood Academy Trust
  • Rossington All Saints Academy
  • Sir Thomas Wharton Academy
  • The McAuley Catholic High School Specialist College for the Performing Arts
  • Trinity Academy
  • XP East

Further Education Colleges

  • Club Doncaster Sports College
  • Dearne Valley College
  • Doncaster College
  • Doncaster University Technical College
  • John Leggott College
  • National College for High Speed Rail
  • New College Doncaster
  • North Lindsey College
  • Rotherham College
  • Thomas Rotherham College
  • Wakefield College

If university is your ultimate goal, you can find out more information from the complete university guide.

Learning does not stop when you leave school – as an adult there are many opportunities in Doncaster for you to expand your knowledge and gain new skills.

The Adult, Family and Community Learning (AFCL) service provide learning activities for adults and families in the local community. This includes functional skills courses in maths and English, supporting your child with homework, ‘story sacks’ and ‘families get crafty’.

Volunteering is also a great way to expand your skill set. Volunteering gives you the chance to meet new people, learn new things and gain work experience to enhance your CV. You may also choose to access the national careers service or think about going onto higher education.

For more useful information, please visit our directory

FIS Homepage

 

Last updated: 28 September 2020 11:49:58