Schools and Learning

Families Information Service hold information about all schools in Doncaster.


You can find a list of schools in Doncaster below, alternatively, you can search for a school using our Schools Finder. If you would like to know more about a certain school, for example how many children are on the register or the latest inspection report, you can find information by looking at the new government information about schools website. You can also search for primary, secondary and special needs schools and colleges near you, and check their performance on the government school performance website.

Infant Schools

Askern Moss Road Infant Academy Askern www.askernmossroad.com
Askern Littlemoor Infant Academy Askern www.askernlittlemoor.com
Grange Lane Infant Academy New Rossington www.gliacademy.org.uk  
Kirk Sandall Infant School Kirk Sandall www.ksinfantschool.co.uk  
Norton Infant School Norton www.norton-inf.uk
Rossington Tornedale Infant School New Rossington www.tornedaleinfantschool.co.uk  
Rowena Academy Conisbrough www.rowenaacademy.org.uk  
Scawsby Saltersgate Infant School Scawsby www.saltersgate-inf.doncaster.sch.uk/
Sprotbrough Orchard Infant School Sprotbrough www.orchardinfants.wordpress.com  

Primary Schools

Adwick Primary School  Woodlands www.adwickprimary.doncaster.sch.uk/ 
Arksey Primary School Arksey www.arkseyprimary.co.uk 
Armthorpe Shaw Wood Academy Armthorpe www.shawwoodacademy.co.uk 
Atlas Academy Doncaster www.astreaatlas.org  
Auckley School Auckley www.auckley.doncaster.sch.uk 
Balby Central Primary School Balby www.balbycentralprimary.co.uk 
Barnburgh Primary School Barnburgh www.barnburghprimary.co.uk 
Barnby Dun Primary Academy Barnby Dun www.barnbydunprimaryacademy.co.uk 
Bawtry Mayflower Primary School Bawtry www.bawtrymayflower.doncaster.sch.uk 
Bentley High Street Primary School Bentley www.bentleyhighstreet.co.uk 
Bentley New Village Primary School Bentley www.bentleynewvillage.co.uk 
Bessacarr Primary Bessacarr www.bessacarr.doncaster.sch.uk  
Branton St Wilfrid's C Of E Primary School Branton www.branton-st-wilfrids-primary.co.uk
Canon Popham C Of E Primary Academy Edenthorpe www.canonpopham.schnet.org 
Carcroft Primary School Carcroft www.carcroftprimary.co.uk/ 
Carr Lodge Academy Balby www.carrlodgeacademy.org 
Castle Academy Conisbrough www.castleacademy.org 
Conisbrough Ivanhoe Primary Academy Conisbrough www.ivanhoeschool.co.uk 
Crookesbroom Primary Academy Hatfield www.cpacademy.org.uk 
Denaby Main Primary School Denaby Main www.astreadenabymain.org 
Dunsville Primary School Dunsville www.dunsville.doncaster.sch.uk
Edenthorpe Hall Primary Academy Edenthorpe www.edenthorpehall.doncaster.sch.uk 
Edlington Victoria Academy Edlington www.edlingtonvictoria.co.uk/ 
Green Top Thorne www.greentopschool.co.uk 
Hatchell Wood Primary Academy Cantley www.hatchellwood.realsmartcloud.com 
Hatfield Sheep Dip Lane Primary School Dunscroft www.sheepdiplane.doncaster.sch.uk 
Hatfield Woodhouse Primary School Hatfield Woodhouse www.hatfieldwoodhouse.org.uk 
Hawthorn Primary School Cantley www.hawthorn.doncaster.sch.uk 
Hayfield Lane Primary School Auckley www.hayfieldlane.org 
Hexthorpe Primary School Hexthorpe www.hexthorpe.doncaster.sch.uk 
Highfields Primary Academy Highfields http://www.highfieldspa.org.uk 
Highwoods Academy Mexborough  www.highwoods.doncaster.sch.uk/ 
Hill Top Academy Edlington www.hilltop-primary.co.uk/ 
Hillside Academy Denaby Main www.hillsideacademy.org 
Holy Family Catholic Primary School Stainforth www.holyfamily.doncaster.sch.uk 
Hooton Pagnell All Saints Church Of England Primary School. Hooton Pagnell www.hpcofe.co.uk 
Intake Primary Academy Intake www.astreaintake.org 
Kingfisher Primary Academy Wheatley www.kingfisherprimary.co.uk 
Kirkby Avenue Primary School Bentley www.kirkbyavenueprimaryschool.co.uk 
Lakeside Primary School Belle Vue www.lakesidedoncaster.com 
Long Toft Primary School Stainforth www.longtoft-doncaster.co.uk 
Mallard Primary School Balby http://www.mallardprimary.com/ 
Marshland Primary School Moorends www.marshland.doncaster.sch.uk 
Mexborough St John The Baptist C Of E Primary School Mexborough www.mexboroughstjohn.co.uk 
Montagu Academy Mexborough www.montaguacademy.org.uk 
New Pastures Primary School Mexborough www.newpasturesprimaryschool.co.uk 
Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Primary School Intake www.ourladymountcarmel.doncaster.sch.uk 
Our Lady of Perpetual Help Catholic Primary School Bentley www.ourladys.doncaster.sch.uk 
Our Lady Of Sorrows Catholic Voluntary Academy Armthorpe www.ourladysorrows.doncaster.sch.uk 
Owston Park Primary School Skellow www.owston.doncaster.sch.uk 
Park Primary School Wheatley www.parkprimary.greenschoolsonline.co.uk/  
Plover Primary School Intake www.plover.doncaster.sch.uk 
Richmond Hill Primary Academy Sprotbrough www.richmond.doncaster.sch.uk 
Rosedale Primary School Scawsby www.rosedale.doncaster.sch.uk/  
Rossington St Michaels C Of E Primary School Rossington www.rossingtonstmichaelscofe.org.uk 
Sandringham Primary School Intake www.sandringham.school
Scawthorpe Castle Hills Primary School Scawthorpe www.castlehills.org.uk 
Scawthorpe Sunnyfields Primary School Scawthorpe www.sunnyfields.doncaster.sch.uk  
Southfield Primary Armthorpe https://southfield.eschools.co.uk 
St Alban's Catholic Primary School Denaby Main www.st-albans.doncaster.sch.uk 
St Francis Xavier Catholic Primary School Balby www.xavier.doncaster.sch.uk 
St Joseph & St Teresa's Catholic Primary School Woodlands www.sjst.co.uk 
St Joseph's School a Catholic Voluntary Academy New Rossington www.st-josephs.doncaster.sch.uk 
St Mary's Catholic Primary School Edlington www.st-marys-pri.doncaster.sch.uk/ 
St Oswald's C Of E Academy Finningley www.stoswaldsacademy.co.uk 
St Peter's Catholic Primary School Belle Vue www.stpeterdoncaster.co.uk/ 
Stainforth Kirton Lane Primary School Stainforth www.kirtonlane.doncaster.sch.uk 
Thorne Brooke Primary School Thorne www.thornebrooke.doncaster.sch.uk 
Thorne King Edward Primary School Thorne www.kingedward.doncaster.sch.uk/ 
Tickhill Estfeld Primary School Tickhill www.estfeld.doncaster.sch.uk 
Tickhill St Mary's C Of E Primary & Nursery School Doncaster www.tickhillstmarys.co.uk 
Toll Bar Primary School Toll Bar www.tollbar.doncaster.sch.uk 
Town Field Primary School Doncaster www.townfield.doncaster.sch.uk 
Tranmoor Primary Armthorpe www.tranmoor.doncaster.sch.uk 
Travis St Lawrence C E Primary School Hatfield www.travis.doncaster.sch.uk 
Wadworth Primary School Wadworth www.wadworthprimary.org.uk 
Warmsworth Primary School Warmsworth www.warmsworth.doncaster.sch.uk 
Waverley Academy Balby www.astreawaverley.org 
West Road Primary School Moorends www.westrd.doncaster.sch.uk 
Willow Academy Bessacarr www.willowprimaryschool.co.uk 
Windhill Primary School Mexborough www.windhillprimary.co.uk 
Woodfield Primary School Balby www.woodfieldprimaryschool.co.uk 
Woodlands Primary School Woodlands www.woodlandsprimary.doncaster.sch.uk 

Junior Schools

Copley Junior School Sprotbrough www.copley.doncaster.sch.uk 
Kirk Sandall Junior School Kirk Sandall www.kirksandalljunior.schooljotter2.com/ 
Morley Place Academy Conisbrough www.morleyplace.org.uk 
Norton Junior School Norton www.norton-jun.doncaster.sch.uk/ 
Pheasant Bank Academy New Rossington www.pheasantbankacademy.org.uk 
Scawsby Saltersgate Junior School Scawsby www.saltersjun.doncaster.sch.uk 
Spa Academy Askern Askern www.spaacademyaskern.com

Secondary Schools

Armthorpe Academy Armthorpe www.armthorpeacademy.org.uk 
Ash Hill Academy Hatfield www.ashhillacademy.org.uk 
Astrea Academy Woodfields Balby www.astreawoodfields.org/ 
Campsmount Academy Norton www.campsmount.com 
De Warenne Academy Conisbrough www.dewarenne.org.uk 
Don Valley Academy Scawthorpe www.donvalleyacademy.org.uk 
Hall Cross Academy Lower School Bessacarr www.hallcrossacademy.co.uk/ 
Hall Cross Academy Upper School Doncaster www.hallcrossacademy.co.uk 
Hungerhill School Edenthorpe www.hungerhillschool.com 
Mexborough Academy Mexborough www.mexborough.doncaster.sch.uk 
Outwood Academy Adwick Woodlands www.outwood.com 
Outwood Academy Danum Intake www.danum.outwood.com 
Ridgewood School Scawsby www.ridgewoodschool.co.uk 
Rossington All Saints Academy New Rossington www.theallsaints.net 
Sir Thomas Wharton Academy Edlington www.stwcc.co.uk 
The Hayfield School Auckley www.thehayfieldschool.co.uk 
The McAuley Catholic High School Doncaster www.mcauley.org.uk 
Trinity Academy Thorne www.trinity-academy.org.uk 
Xp School Balby  www.xpschool.org 

Independent Schools 

Private schools (also known as 'independent schools') charge fees to attend instead of being funded by the government. Private schools must be registered with the government and are inspected regularly.

Balby Sycamore Hall School Balby www.sycamorehallschool.co.uk/ 
Doncaster School for the Deaf and Communication Specialist College Bennetthorpe www.deaf-trust.co.uk/school 
Hill House School Auckley www.hillhouse.doncaster.sch.uk 

Special Schools

Some children have long term, significant and complex needs and will require an Education, Health and Care Plan specifying a specialist placement within one of Doncaster’s special schools. To meet this level of exceptional need the Local Authority maintains 5 special schools:

School Specialises In Age Range
Coppice School Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
Social, Emotional and Mental Health (SEMH)
Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD)
3 - 19 years
Heatherwood School Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD)
Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulty (PMLD)
3 - 19 years
North Ridge School Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD) 3 - 19 years
Pennine View School Moderate Learning Difficulty (MLD) 7 - 16 years
Stone Hill School Moderate Learning Difficulty (MLD) 5 - 16 years

In Doncaster, the majority of pupils are allocated a place at their local school (this is referred to as their catchment area school) – you can find out more about the schools admission process and school transfers on their webpage: school admissions. You can find school holidays and term dates here.

The Attendance and Pupil Welfare Service (APWS) works with schools, parents and carers, pupils and other agencies to reduce unnecessary absences from school. The role of the Attendance and Pupil Welfare Service is to:

  • Advise and support families, children and schools to ensure that all children receive an education by regular attendance at school or otherwise
  • Work with home educating families and services to offer support and advice
  • Identify children missing education and ensure their re-engagement with education
  • Ensure that child employment and performance is undertaken within the requirements of the legislation. 

Sometimes, parents feel their children would benefit from extra support outside of school; this may be to prepare children for upcoming exams or to help them in a certain subject. Whatever the reason, there are tutors out there who can help – you can find them on our directory under private tuition. You can also find out more about exam and revision support on the Move on, Move up webpage.

After your child has finished their GCSEs, they may be unsure about what further opportunities are available to them, these include:

  • Staying in school
  • Sixth form college
  • Further education college
  • Work-based training provider

You can view a list of schools in Doncaster who have sixth forms, and a list of further education colleges in and around Doncaster below. For a list of training providers in and around Doncaster, please visit Start in Doncaster where you can find careers information. For more information on the above options, you can also read the choosing where to study or train guide, which has been produced by UCAS (Universities and Colleges Admissions Service).

School Sixth Forms

The following schools in Doncaster have sixth forms:

  • Ash Hill Academy
  • Atrea Woodfields (Balby Carr Community Academy)
  • Campsmount (A Co-operative Academy)
  • Danum Academy
  • De Warenne Academy
  • Don Valley Academy
  • Hall Cross Academy
  • Outwood Academy
  • Ridgewood Academy Trust
  • Rossington All Saints Academy
  • Sir Thomas Wharton Academy
  • The McAuley Catholic High School Specialist College for the Performing Arts
  • Trinity Academy
  • XP East

Further Education Colleges

  • Club Doncaster Sports College
  • Dearne Valley College
  • Doncaster College
  • Doncaster University Technical College
  • John Leggott College
  • National College for High Speed Rail
  • New College Doncaster
  • North Lindsey College
  • Rotherham College
  • Thomas Rotherham College
  • Wakefield College

If university is your ultimate goal, you can find out more information from the complete university guide.

Learning does not stop when you leave school – as an adult there are many opportunities in Doncaster for you to expand your knowledge and gain new skills.

The Adult, Family and Community Learning (AFCL) service provide learning activities for adults and families in the local community. This includes functional skills courses in maths and English, supporting your child with homework, ‘story sacks’ and ‘families get crafty’.

Volunteering is also a great way to expand your skill set. Volunteering gives you the chance to meet new people, learn new things and gain work experience to enhance your CV. You may also choose to access the national careers service or think about going onto higher education.

For more useful information, please visit our directory

FIS Homepage

 

Last updated: 07 February 2020 14:48:57